

MCA Road Race June 6, 2018

Presented by FOG Cycling Club Location: Stony Mountain, MB

Conditions: Cloudy 21°C Wind WNW 21 kph

Participants: 32

The 15th annual Stony Mountain Criterium was held under perfect weather conditions in Stony Mountain Manitoba. Race Announcer Steve Scoles, sporting a classic Mark Spitz mustache, kept the fans entertained while the full slate of races was underway.

Up first was the Category 5 event featuring a good mix of veteran Master riders and our most promising athletes from the MCA Development Team. The main pack, featuring defending champion Peter Dolinka rode conservatively and matched each other's pace. A group of nine riders rounded the final 120-degree turn in a tight bunch and sprinted their way up Dufferin Street towards the finish line. It was a stunning photo finish with the top three riders separated by just inches. After several minutes of deliberation, Chief Commissaire Arlene Woodcock declared Peter Dolinka as the winner with promising 13-year-old Team Devo rider, Ethan Vandenberg, a very close 2nd. Bikes and Beyond rider Mathew Grabau rounded out the podium.

The next event was the Category 4 race featuring riders from Team Devo and Team MB including a few individuals such as Unai Apraiz an accomplished teenage triathlete in his very first bike race. This event saw several lead changes in the opening laps. The cash prime, won by Cody Brown (Team MB), broke apart the race and the final laps were to be contested among a group of 6 riders at the front including Madeleine Dupuis and Caitlyn Roy. In the finale, Cody Brown would not be denied his victory as he powered up to the finish line ahead of 2nd place rider Nick Bergen and 3rd place Christopher Wu.

The last event of the night was worth the wait! Manitoba's top road cyclists rolled up to the line for the Cat 3 race under a setting sun to hear the final instructions from the Race Commissaire. Within 50 meters of the start, it was clear that the Team MB riders had showed up with a plan to take control of this race. Ness Dalling sprinted off the front and put in a blistering opening lap that could not be equaled by any of his competitors. Lap after lap, Ness continued to build his lead on the main pack. The chase was left to Woodcock Cycle Works riders Chris Graham, Danny Bubis and Don Sawatzky to try to bring Ness back. Several attempts to bridge the gap were always countered by Team MB riders Scott English or Mohammed Alabdousalem. For a while it seemed possible that Ness might just lap the field as the gap grew to greater than 1 minute by the halfway point of the race. In the end, it was Ness Dalling taking a much-deserved win followed by Scott English in second and the cagey veteran Don Sawatzky in third.

Thank you to: Racers, the RM of Rockwood, MCA (Jayson, Twila), Commissaires (Arlene, Jessica), Announcer (Steve), Stony Mountain Volunteer Fire Department (Keith, Dean, Katrina), FOG Cycling Club (Anne-Marie, Sheila, Jiri, Andy, Doug, John, Mike), Robert, Sandra & Gerald.

Marc Fournier, FOG Cycling Club

Cat-5 20 min +2 laps

Place	Name	Club	Time
1	Peter Dolinka	Ind	26:45
2	Ethan Vandenberg	Team Devo	26:45
3	Mathew Grabau	Bikes & Beyond	26:45
4	Rod Colwell	FOG	26:45
5	Don Rose	Woodcock	26:45
6	Matthew Stiff	Country Cycle	26:45
7	Jurgen Feldschmid	FOG	26:45
8	Amy Cooper	Team Devo.	26:45
9	Brad Gauthier	Woodcock	26:45
10	Emma Stephanson	Team Devo.	27:30
11	Madeleine Mitchell	FOG	29:00
12	Emma Mitchell	FOG	29:00

Cat-4 30 min +2 laps

Place	Name	Club	Time
1	Cody Brown*	Team MB	36:34
2	Nick Bergen	Ind.	36:34
3	Christopher Wu	Ind.	36:34
4	Nathaniel Man	Team Devo.	36:34
5	Caitlyn Roy	Team Devo.	36:34
6	Madeleine Dupuis	Team MB	36:34
7	David Brodeur	Team Devo.	38:44
8	Unai Apraiz Zenon	Ind.	38:47
9	Rebecca Man	Team MB	39:00
10	Albert Chin	FOG	37:31
11	Zoe Penno	Team Devo.	38:30
12	Maia Dalling	Team Devo.	37:53

-1 lap -1 lap -2 lap

Cat-3 40 min +2 laps

Place	Name	Club	Time
1	Ness Dalling	Team MB	45:22
2	Scott English*	Team MB	46:40
3	Don Sawatzky	Woodcock	46:44
	Mohammed		
4	Alabdousalem*	Team MB	46:55
5	Danny Bubis	Woodcock	46:55
6	Chris Graham	Woodcock	46:55
7	Tim Friesen	FOG	46:55
8	Olli Hyytiainen	Dark Red Racing	47:06

^{*} Prime winners

^{*} Prime winner.